How Much Does a DUI Cost in Nebraska? – Omaha Criminal Defense Lawyer
Under Nebraska law, it is illegal to operate or be in the “actual physical control” of a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The blood alcohol limit for a driver is .08%. A DUI charge can have serious adverse consequences, including an increase in insurance rates, disqualification from certain jobs, or losing your driver license. As a result, a lot is at stake with a DUI conviction. You need a DUI attorney that is committed to your defense.
Petersen Criminal Defense Law can provide that to you. Many people want to know, How much does a DUI cost? Tom Petersen can help you answer this question and more. He is a member of the National Advocacy for DUI Defense and is prepared to defend you against DUI charges.
How Much Does a DUI Fine Cost?
According to the Nebraska Department of Transportation, DUI charges have decreased yearly within the state since 2008. However, that does not prevent Nebraska from enforcing serious penalties on individuals convicted of DUI. The penalties for a DUI conviction depend on your prior DUI convictions. First-time offenders receive lower penalties. However, multiple DUI convictions will enhance those penalties.
How Much Will My First DUI Cost?
The DUI fine is $500 for the first conviction. The driver can be sentenced to between 7 and 60 days in jail in addition to receiving a maximum license suspension of six months. The license revocation is increased to one year if the driver’s BAC was over .15%.
How Much Will My Second DUI Cost?
For the second DUI conviction, the fine is $500. The driver can face up to 180 days in jail, as well as license suspension for up to one year. If the driver’s BAC was over .15%, he or she could face up to one year in jail and a license revocation of up to fifteen years.
How Much Will My Third DUI Cost?
A third DUI conviction carries a $1,000 fine, the possibility of up to one year in jail, and a license revocation of up to fifteen years. If the BAC was over .15%, it will be charged as a felony DUI.
The cost of any DUI increases significantly in the event of a car accident or death.
Other Costs Associated with a DUI Charge
Other than the DUI ticket cost, many other expenses can appear along the way. Some of these include:
- Increases in car insurance,
- Driving or substance abuse classes,
- License revocation fees,
- Ignition interlock devices,
- Towing and storage of vehicles, and
- Bail costs.
Every case is different. Not every situation will include all these costs. Even a few of these expenses can add up quickly. The average cost of a DUI pales in comparison to all the other costs associated with the criminal charge.
Can an Attorney Help with My DUI Charge?
Petersen Criminal Defense Law represents clients throughout Nebraska in defending against DUI charges.
Criminal defense attorney Tom Petersen has over 20 years of experience practicing law in Nebraska. In fact, Tom was recognized as a top 50 defense attorney in Nebraska.
We believe that our clients are innocent until proven otherwise in a court of law. You need an experienced attorney on your side who will fight for your rights in the courtroom. If you have been charged with DUI in Nebraska, contact Petersen Criminal Defense Law today for a free consultation.